100 Artists See God


March 7, 2004 - June 27, 2004



100 Artists See God is a traveling exhibition organized by Independent Curators International. The guest co-curators, artists John Baldessari and Meg Cranston, are tackling the ever-challenging question of God in this exhibition. Baldessari and Cranston have invited 100 artists to respond to one of art's most enduring challenges: picturing the divine. Recent political developments have also led the public to examine the notion of "divine authority"- in the curators' words, "God is news." The artists selected for this exhibition are those whose work the curators know and admire, those who possess the sense of humor and audacity necessary for such a project, or artists who are "likely to surprise."

An exhibition that goes beyond universal images of traditional faiths to offer individual interpretations of spirituality. The show was organized around the following questions: How contemporary artists see God? Ho and why might the point of view of artists reinforce-or stand in contrast to that of the general public? And what comfort or answers do we all seek in spiritual undertakings of varying kinds?

Exhibition Artists

Reverend Ethan Acres
Terry Allen 
Jo Harvey Allen
Eleanor Antin 
Brienne Arrington
David Askevold
Lillian Ball
Cindy Bernard 
Andrea Bowers
Delia Brown 
Edgar Bryan
Angela Bulloch
Chris Burden
Mary Ellen Carroll
Erin Cosgrove 
Michael Craig-Martin
Jeremy Deller
Sam Durant
Jimmie Durham
Nicole Eisenman
Katharina Fritsch
Jonathan Furmanski
Liam Gillick 
James Gobel
Jack Goldstein
Scott Grieger
Andreas Gursky
James Hayward 
Micol Hebron 
Damien Hirst
Rebecca Horn 
Darcy Huebler 
Christian Jankowski
Larry Johnson
Mike Kelley 
Mary Kelly
Martin Kersels
Nicholas Kersulis 
Martin Kippenberger
Rachel Lachowicz
Norm Laich
Liz Larner
Louise Lawler
Barry Le Va 
William Leavitt
Roy Lichtenstein
Jen Liu
Thomas Locher 
Daria Martin 
T. Kelly Mason 
Rita McBride 
Paul McCarthy
Carlos Mollura 
JP Munro  Bruce Nauman
Jennifer Nelson 
Eric Niebuhr
Leonard Nimoy 
Albert Oehlen
Catherine Opie
Tony Oursler 
Jorge Pardo
Simon Patterson
Hirsch Perlman 
Luciano Perna 
Renée Petropoulos 
Raymond Pettibon 
Paul Pfeiffer 
Nicolette Pot
Richard Prince
Rob Pruitt and Jonathan Horowitz
David Reed
Victoria Reynolds
Gerhard Richter
Jeremy Gilbert-Rolfe
Susan Rothenberg
Nancy Rubins
Glen Walter Rubsamen 
Allen Ruppersberg
Ed Ruscha 
Pauline Stella Sanchez 
Kim Schoenstadt 
Jim Shaw 
Gary Simmons 
Alexis Smith
Yutaka Sone 
Thaddeus Strode 
Diana Thater 
Mungo Thomson 
Thorvaldur Thorsteinsson, in collaboration with Helena Jonsdottir
Jeffrey Vallance 
John Waters 
Marnie Weber 
William Wegman 
Lawrence Weiner 
Benjamin Weissman 
James Welling 
Eric Wesley 
John Wesley
Franz West
Chris Wilder
Christopher Williams
Steven Wong
Mans Wrange, in collaboration with Igor Isaksson
Mario Ybarr

736 Mission Street (btwn. 3rd and 4th Streets), San Francisco, CA 94103 | Hours: Daily 11am–5pm, Thursdays 11am–8pm, Closed Wednesdays | 415.655.7800 | info@thecjm.org